Skip to main content

About COE

Georgia Southern University College of Education is the premier and primary educator of teachers in Southeast Georgia, and Eagle Educators are known throughout the state and nation for their achievements and dedication to the field of education. The College of Education offers students multiple program opportunities spanning all three Georgia Southern locations and online. Programs offered by the COE prepare future teachers, school psychologists, counselors, school library media specialists, instructional technologists, researchers and leaders through intensive field experiences, cutting-edge technology and research-based instruction. With more than 100 faculty members who are experts in the field, students learn in an environment exemplified by a free exchange of ideas, high academic expectations, and individual responsibility for academic achievement.

Program options include seven undergraduate Bachelor of Science in Education majors preparing students for initial teacher certification. At the graduate level, the College offers the Master of Arts in Teaching degree with six available concentrations, 12 master of education degrees, four education specialist degrees, and two doctoral degrees. The College also offers four certificate opportunities and eight graduate-level programs for educators seeking to add an endorsement to their certification.

Georgia Southern University has a strong reputation for producing successful educators after graduation. With a focus on hands-on learning and real-world experience, graduates are well-prepared to enter the workforce. According to the Georgia Department of Education, “90% of BSED and MAT graduates between 2018-2021 are still employed as teachers in a public Georgia school district,” and “90% of BSED/MAT Elementary graduates, 92% of BSED/MAT graduates, and 91% of BSED/MAT Special Education graduates are still employed as teachers in a public Georgia school district” (source, GaDOE).

The success of the College’s initial preparation and advanced degree programs is linked to its extensive partnerships with regional schools, educational and community agencies, and other units of Georgia Southern University. These collaborations provide vital experiences and benefits to all involved. Whether a K-12 school utilizing the expertise of a COE faculty member or a counseling or school psychology graduate student working with an experienced professional in the field, partnerships are a fundamental role of the College.

For a full listing of programs please visit our COE Education Degree Programs web page.

Mission and Vision


The mission of the College of Education is to prepare educators and other service professionals to be lifelong learners with scholarly based knowledge, skills, and experiences to meet the needs of a diverse global community.


To be a distinguished College of Education that prepares our undergraduate and graduate students in becoming exceptional professionals who can strengthen our dynamic and diverse society.

Contact Information

Armstrong Campus:
104 University Drive, Office #297
Savannah, GA 31419

Statesboro Campus:
275 C.O.E. Drive
P.O. Box 8013
Statesboro, Georgia 30460
Fax: (912) 478-5093
COE Administrative Email:

Last updated: 7/31/2023