Skip to main content

Recipients of College awards named at Honors Day Convocation

College of Education students and faculty pictured after Georgia Southern University’s Honor Day Convocation

College of Education (COE) majors were recognized during the Georgia Southern University Honors Day Convocation held April 4 in the Nessmith-Lane Conference Center on the Statesboro Campus.

“Each of the COE award recipients demonstrated superior academic performance in their course work as well as exemplary performance in their field and clinical experiences,” said Deborah Thomas, Ph.D., associate dean for initial educator preparation and assessment. “These highly competitive and selective awards allow us to recognize the students who have exceeded the high expectations we have for our teacher candidates in demonstrating the knowledge, skills and dispositions required of effective beginning teachers.”

Six COE students were named recipients of College-specific awards that were created and awarded for the first time in 2017.

Additionally, a new award was presented during the 2018 convocation. Kalyee Deleon, a senior middle grades education major, was named the first-ever recipient of the College of Education Excellence in Writing Award to recognize academic merit in undergraduate writing in the COE’s initial certification process.

Brooke Bressler received the Early Childhood Education Eagle Teacher Award for outstanding performance in the teacher education program including academic achievement, superior teaching performance and exceptional professional dispositions.

The Ronnie Sheppard Excellence in Middle Level Education Award was presented to Amanda Cleveland. The award is presented annually to a student teacher or recent graduate who has demonstrated excellence in the middle grades program. Cleveland was also recognized as an Outstanding Scholar Graduating Senior, a distinction presented to graduating seniors with a grade point average of 3.9 or higher at Georgia Southern.

Bailey Crosby was named the recipient of the Special Education Eagle Teacher Award as an acknowledgement of her success both academically and in classroom teaching performance. She was also recognized as an Outstanding Scholar Graduating Senior.

Acknowledging an exceptional health and physical education major, the William R. Spieth Outstanding Health and Physical Education Major of the Year Award was given to junior Hayley Dobson.

Harmony Wallace was presented the Early Childhood/Special Education Eagle Teacher Award for her outstanding performance academically and in student teaching within the dual certification program. She was also recognized as an Outstanding Scholar Graduating Senior.

The Marti Schriver Middle Level Advocacy Award was presented to Kamaren Walthour for her dedication to the improvement of middle level students within and beyond the classroom.

Additionally, COE students receiving an Outstanding Scholar Graduating Senior acknowledgement included: Sarah Cannington, Haley Chandler, Bethany Durrence, Hannah Grandin, Kellya Guajardo, Emily Heath, Matthew Herndon, Rebecca Hinrichs, Allyn Jones, Laura McCarter, Katie Mitchell, Katelyn Reeves, Amy Rustine, Abigail Slattery, Katherine Tatum, Shannon Wagenbrenner, Molly Welch and Emily Woodall.


Posted in Student Highlights

Tags: , , , , , ,